Product Information:-

  • Journals
  • Books
  • Case Studies
  • Regional information

Standardized admissions tests

Options:     Print Version - Standardized admissions tests , part 4 Print view

English language tests

For non-native speakers who have not studied before in an English language country, it is necessary to prove sufficient mastery of the language. The tests involved generally measure the four key communication skills of speaking, listening, reading and writing.

The main ones are:

  • IELTS – International English Language Testing System: Covers "international English" –- is accepted by most British, Irish, Australian, New Zealand, South African and increasingly American institutions. It has six modules: listening, academic reading, general training reading, academic writing, general training writing, and speaking. Candidates have to have interviews and write essays, etc.
  • TOEFL – Test of English as a Foreign Language: Covers North American English, and is delivered via the Internet. The test is offered in different formats depending on your location.
  • TOEIC – Test of English for International Communication: Covers North American English, and is a two-hour test using multiple choice with pictures, audio cassettes and written material.

For more information on English language tests, visit: or